EMJM Scholarships

With the approval from the Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency (EAECA), the Consortium awards up to 78 full scholarships for the best students from all over the world. Scholarships are distributed across the four cohorts enrolling between 2023 and 2026.

What is an EMJM Scholarship?

  • The EMJM Scholarship is a full scholarship provided to the most excelling full-time students selected by the Consortium. Students receive:

    • A monthly allowance of EUR 1.400 to cover travel, visa, installation and subsistence costs. (Installation costs are meant to cover additional costs such as the visa application procedure, issuing of residence permit, temporary accommodation costs etc.) 

    • A full (participation) fee waiver

    • Insurance in line with EACEA requirements

    Selected students are eligible to receive support for a maximum of two years – the nominal duration of ReD Global, and as long as they continue to meet their academic obligations. This period covers study, research, placement activities, thesis preparation and defense, in line with the requirements of the EMJM.

    The highest-ranked applicants may be offered a ReD Global EMJM scholarship. In case of equal ranking, the PEC may give preference to candidates with a vulnerable status. 

     The Consortium, in its award of EMJM scholarships, complies fully with the EACEA requirements for project implementation.

Erasmus+ Partner & Programme Countries

Both a student’s country of origin and their country of residence may have an influence on their eligibility for EMJM scholarships. Countries are divided into Erasmus+ Programme Countries and Erasmus+ Partner Countries.

  • Erasmus+ Programme Countries:
    Member States of the EU, Republic of North Macedonia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Serbia, United Kingdom and Turkey. Students whose citizenship is one of the Erasmus+ Programme Countries count as Programme Country students.


  • Erasmus+ Partner Countries:
    All other countries are Erasmus+ Partner Countries. Students whose citizenship is one of the Erasmus+ Partner Countries count as Partner Country students.

Scholarship selection procedure

Annually, there are a limited number of EMJM scholarships available for the most excellent applicants to the ReD Global programme. EMJM ReD Global scholarships are awarded on the basis of the ranking of students during the application and selection procedure. This means that the scholarship selection procedure is an integral part of the admission procedure and that only the highest ranking students qualify for an EMJM ReD Global scholarship.

On the ReD Global application form, you can indicate whether you would like to be considered for an EMJM ReD Global scholarship (please note the deadline for scholarship applications is 15 January). When the selection procedure has been completed by the Programme Examination Committee, each applicant will be informed as soon as possible about whether s/he is offered a place in the ReD Global programme and if so, if this offer also includes an EMJM ReD Global scholarship. Generally speaking, it is expected applicants will be informed about this mid-April. 

Please note that ReD Global only has a limited number of scholarships available for the most excellent students. We strongly recommend that you also look into other funding opportunities that may be available to you.

In case of withdrawal of a student that has been offered a place – and, if applicable, a scholarship – in the programme, the next student in the ranking scheduled to start at the same partner university as the student that has withdrawn will be offered the place – and, if applicable, the scholarship. This ensures an equal division of students among the partner universities as well as a proper match between the applicants’ educational background and the 1st year 2nd semester partner university.

Targeted regions

Each year, several scholarships are specifically allocated to students from selected countries. If you are an applicant from one of the following countries, we highly encourage you to apply! 


  • Region 1 (Western Balkans): Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro
  • Region 3 (South Mediterranean): Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia
  • Region 5 (Asia): Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, China, DPR Korea, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan,Thailand, Vietnam
  • Region 6 (Central Asia): Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan
  • Region 7 (Middle East): Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen
  • Region 8 (Pacific): Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solom Islands, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu
  • Region 9 (Sub-Saharan Africa): Angola, Benin, Bostwana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe
  • Region 10 (Latin America): Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela
  • Region 11 (Caribbean): Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago

Note that:

Students who have already obtained an Erasmus+ EMJM scholarship or an Erasmus Mundus Master/Doctoral Course scholarship are not eligible for an additional scholarship under the EMJM action. Students benefiting from an EMJM scholarship cannot benefit from another EU grant while pursuing their EMJM studies.

Funded by the European Union. Views and opinions expressed are however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of the European Union or the European Education and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA). Neither the European Union nor EACEA can be held responsible for them.